History professor receives two major honors from Medieval Academy of America // Latest News // College of Arts and Letters // University of Notre Dame

John Van Engen

John Van Engen, the Andrew V. Tackes Professor of Medieval History, received two significant honors from the Medieval Academy of America at its annual meeting in Toronto last month.

A member of Notre Dame’s Department of History since 1977, Van Engen received the association’s Robert L. Kindrick-CARA Award for Outstanding Service to Medieval Studies, which recognizes leaders who develop and promote medieval studies. The award honored Van Engen’s efforts as director of Notre Dame’s Medieval Institute from 1985-1998 and 2014-2016 and the ripple effect his work had on the profession.

Van Engen was also elected president of the Fellows of the Medieval Academy of America, a group formed more than 90 years ago to promote the study of the Middle Ages and recognize scholars around the world who make important contributions to the field.

“I always considered serving the Medieval Institute to be one of the great privileges of my life,” Van Engen said. “It is now very satisfying to think that our efforts to grow it have received this kind of public recognition.”

During his time as director of the Medieval Institute, Van Engen brought an interdisciplinary vision, engaging faculty across campus and enrolling talented Ph.D. students from all fields while also growing the medieval studies undergraduate major. He credited longtime supporter Robert M. Conway with making it possible to host conferences and lectures and produce publications that help made the institute become the largest contingent of medievalists at any North American university.

“As director in the 1980s and ’90s, John Van Engen transformed the Medieval Institute into one of leading centers for research and graduate education on the Middle Ages in the whole world,” said Thomas E. Burman, the Robert M. Conway Director of the Medieval Institute. “No one is more responsible for the high esteem in which it is held.”

Three other Notre Dame faculty members are currently MAA…

Read the full article from the Source…

Back to Top